

Legislation Text

File #: ID#20-8225, Version: 1

## SUBJECT/RECOMMENDATION:

Appoint eleven members to the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee, to include Councilmember Kathleen Beckman as the locally elected official, and adopt Resolution 20-50.

## SUMMARY:

Florida Statute Section 420.9076 states that counties and cities receiving State Housing Initiatives Partnership (SHIP) program funds are required to establish annually an Affordable Housing Advisory Committee (AHAC) and prepare a Local Housing Incentive Strategy (LHIS). The statute further provides that the committee be made up of eleven (11) members and that the City appoint the eleven members by resolution. The eleven members must represent a specific industry or a specific group.

The required groups and recommended individuals are listed below:

- Banking industry/mortgage: Linda Kemp
- Area of labor engaged in home building: Gaby Camacho
- Advocate for low-income person: Peter Scalia
- Not-for-profit provider of affordable housing: Kevin Chinault
- Real estate professional engaged in affordable housing: Peggy Cutkomp
- Employers representative: Camille Hebting
- Clearwater resident: Carmen Santiago
- Member of the local planning agency: Michael Boutzoukas
- Essential Services representative: Jacqueline Rivera
- Residential home building: Pierre Cournoyer
- Locally elected official: TO BE DETERMINED BY CITY COUNCIL

The duties of the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee shall include reviewing policies and procedures, ordinances, land development regulations and the City's adopted comprehensive plan and shall recommend specific actions or initiatives to encourage or facilitate affordable housing while protecting the ability of the property to appreciate in value.

The LHIS must be submitted to City Council by December 31, 2020, and will encompass the definition, vision, strategic focus areas, and action plan (including potential amendments to procedures and existing regulations) in order to facilitate the development of affordable housing in the City.

At the September 14 work session, there was council consensus to appoint Councilmember Beckman as the locally elected official.

## **APPROPRIATION CODE AND AMOUNT:**

N/A

## USE OF RESERVE FUNDS: N/A